World heritage in Yamanashi Prefecture

World Heritage · Mt. Fuji
Journey to Yamanashi Prefecture

17822 view
44f59818 2d1e 4cda a1a6 ad7d8ff90946
Mt. Fuji, it straddles the boundary of Shizuoka and Yamanashi Prefectures which located on the west of Tokyo. As a World Heritage site, Mt. Fuji Area has gorgeous lakes and ancient shrines, Mt. Fuji climbing roads, etc. Here we will introduce the sightseeing spots of Yamanashi Prefecture to you.

Following the path of the Mt. Fuji Admirers! The free accommodation for the mount climbers, "Oshi Jutaku"

Da 588 b 3 f 677 f 4247 9722 faf 4 f 26 a 1 f 7 f

Oshi, a person who was engaged in missionary work about Mt. Fuji. And the Oshi Jutaku, it means home of Oshi, which providing the accommodation and foods for the admirers who came from all over Japan to climb the Mt. Fuji.

In Fujiyoshida city of Yamanashi Prefecture, one of the Oshi Jutaku, named "Oshi Kyu-Togawake" is open to the public, but "Oshi Osanoke" is closed now.
You can also see the structure restoration of the "Oshi Jutaku" at Fujiyoshida City Local History Museum.

Gorgeous Lakes and the marvelous Mt. Fuji: The artistic Fuji Five Lake

0edddd 2 d 8 e 64 474 a aa 77 4974 c 249 b 6 b 9

Fuji Five Lakes are including Lake Yamanakako, Lake Kawaguchi, Lake Saiko, Lake Shojiko and Lake Motosuko.
These attractive five lakes are the highlights for Mt. Fuji admirers since long time ago.

This scenic spot bound with numerous works of art with a wonderful composition of lake and Mt. Fuji.
The most famous scene of Mt. Fuji is it reflects on the lake surface, especially when you pay a visit on Lake Yamanakako, the fantastic scene is unforgettable.

The three lakes "Lake Saiko", "Lake Shojiko" and "Lake Motosuko" are included as the World Heritage Assets of Mt. Fuji Area.

Fantastic spring like crystal: Oshino Hakkai

12fe 6 ab 5 c 4 e 6 44 1 d 8 abe 0 a 328 cf b 84 ae

Oshino Hakkai is an amazing spot with eight springs which come from the deeper layer of Mt. Fuji.
Oshino Hakkai is now located on the Oshino Village, which contents "Deguchi Pond", "Okama Pond", "Sokonashi Pond", "Choshi Pond", "Kagami Pond", "Waku Pond", "Nigori Pond", "Shobu Pond".
According to legend, the eight ponds stand for different Ryuo(Dragon King)
Mt. Fuji climbers will use the water here to clear themselves as a prayer for good luck in the past.
It is said to have been told as a spiritual place of old-fashioned historical sites that was described as "Mt. Fuji Nemoto Eight Lakes (Mt. Fuji Foot Eight Lakes)".
It was supposed to be revived by Mt. Fuji admirers in 1843.

"Funazu Tainai Lava Tree Molds" in Fujikawaguchiko Town and "Yoshida Tainai Lava Tree Molds" in Fujiyoshida City

2 f 7 a 2 a 8 5 f 4 4 ac 2 ba 0 9 06075 db 51854

When Hasegawa Kakugyo firstly climbed the Mt. Fuji in 1617, he found the small-scale Lava Tree Molds in the northern foot, then he worshiped it as the God of Asami(Asami God is worshiped in the FUJISAN HONGU SENGENTAISHA SHRINE now)
Mt. Fuji admirers discovered the current Funatsu Lava Tree Molds in 1673, and in 1892 Yoshida 's Lava Tree Molds was developed as a new "Otainai".
Konohanasakuya-hime(cherry tree blossom blooming princess) is defied inside the cave.
※ The inside of Yoshida Lava Tree Molds is not open to the public.

Kawaguchi Asama Jinja Shrine and Fuji Omuro Sengen Jinja Shrine in Yamanashi Prefecture

9167ccbb 4461 47f3 be7d 3ed46a13c3cf

The shrines counted World Heritage Assets of Mt. Fuji. Excepts Kawaguchi Asama Jinja Shrine and Fuji Omuro Sengen Jinja Shrine, there are another 6 Shrines were registered as the assets.

"Kawaguchi Asama Jinja Shrine" was built in the 9th Century which located on the north side of Mt. Fuji to lapse the anger of the God of Mt. Fuji after its eruption.​ ​
The estuary centered around Asama Shrine has developed as an Oshi(Mt. Fuji missionary) village from the latter half of the Edo Period when Fuji climbing was popular.
Currently, Asama Jinja Shrine conducts religious events closely related to Mt. Fuji.

There is a document that records " Fuji Omuro Sengen Jinja Shrine" is the earliest shrine that was defied in Mt. Fuji in the early 9th century which in the second station of Yoshida mountain climbing path.
Although the main hall was relocated as it was to the place of the Satomiya(inner hall) in the 1970 's, the second main shrine (main hall), which is positioned as a base for various Mt. Fuji admirers. It is a shrine that has been combined a lot of functions together.

World Heritage Assets of Fujisan-Iki Area(Yamanashi Side)

A 5190 e b 2 a 947 4634 9696 c 6041 bf 1 a 17 b

Mt. Fuji's boundary which straddling in Shizuoka and Yamanashi Prefectures, people call it Fujisan-Iki.
There are 9 spots in Fujisan-Iki, which showed the highest value of artistic Mt. Fuji.
To meet the requirements as Fujisan-Iki, it must be located on over 1500 meters height, on the boundary of Yamanashi and Shizuoka Prefecture. The most famous one is the Religous Objects on the top of Mt. Fuji.

Among them, there are five assets where located on the Yamanashi Prefecture.
Kitaguchi Hongu Fuji Sengen Jinja Shrine is the starting point of Yoshidaguchi climbing route. In the past, countless climbers were aiming the top of Mt. Fuji from here.​ ​
Kitaguchi Hongu Fuji Sengen Jinja Shrine aslo defying the Asami Ogami(Asami God) now.

A journey to World Heritage · Mt. Fuji

You may also like...

Spot information relevant to this article


Enjoy Spring Fuji! Featured feature articles


Popular articles in Yamanashi Prefecture

Popular spots in Yamanashi


From the area
Search spots, articles and features

From category
Search spots, articles and features



See other articles in Yamanashi Prefecture
See other articles on World Heritage Sites