world Heritage

World Heritage · Mt. Fuji
Journey to World Heritage Assets: Fujisan-Iki(Mt. Fuji Area)

47862 view
84f082cc 2522 41ed a320 a733 cb 25 c 0 d 9
Mt. Fuji was chosen as a World Heritage Site is not just accredited simply as Japan's highest mountain. Of course not only the beautiful mountain body but also the fact that countless related spots, which in total 25 places. Among them, 9 assets which located in the altitude over 1,500-meter height, speaking specifically, the boundary of Shizuoka and Yamanashi Prefectures are considered to be the most important area which called "Mt. Fuji area". If you have a chance to pay a visit to Mt. Fuji, the Fujisan-Iki(Mt. Fuji Area) is a must check sightseeing spot.

"Mt. Fuji Area" which is considered as an important area of the whole world heritage site.

Cecaf 744 fc 16 4 f 9 ba 96 e 41 c 0 f 0 f 97 a 7

The value of Mt. Fuji as a world cultural heritage is that Mt. Fuji has become a "Faith of Religous" and "Source of Art" based on a sacred and majestic landscape.

The reason is that the areas depicted in famous paintings overlap each other, and above faith, it is more than "Umakaeshi"(Turning back horse) which was one of the boundaries of sanctity.
In this area, Asama God is enshrined in the 8th Station of Mt. Fuji. Also, the back side of the 1000JPY note, the Lake Motosuko scene is used because of its stunning scenery.​ ​

The history of the mountain climbers: Aiming the top of Mt. Fuji from the climbing route.

27515ea 4 0095 446 f 9 d 0 4 8 c 0 f b b b 874 f

This is the climbing route belongs to Fujisan-Iki(Mt. Fuji Area).

The starting point of Fujimiyaguchi Climbing Route is Fujisan Hongu Sengentaisha Shrine, passes the Murayama Sengen Jinja Shrine, till to the southern part of Mt. Fuji's top.
Mt. Fuji Climbing activities became popular at around 12th Century. There is a saying that 1000 years ago, a monk named Matsudai doing his ascetic practices by climbing the Mt. Fuji, then the activity was spread widely in Japan.
After that, the general public started to admire Mt. Fuji by climbing it until now.

The another climbing route, Gotembaguchi Climbing Route, the starting point is Suyama Sengen Jinja Shrine, the end is the eastern part of the Mt. Fuji's top.
Its origin is not clear, but in ancient documents, this route was confirmed in 1486.
In the Hoei Eruption (1707), the climbing route was destroyed and the reconstruction was done in 1780.
The range of the asset is the Suyama Otainai, of the altitude of 1,435 to 1,690m.
The starting point of Subashiri Climbing Route is Kitaguchi Hongu Fuji Sengen Jinja Shrine, that will join the Yoshidaguchi Climbing Route on the 8th Station, till to the eastern part of Mt. Fuji's top.​ ​​ ​
One Hanging Buddha Sculpture which was made on 1384, has found on the climbing route.
In the latter half of the 14th century, the lodging for the people who worshiped the pilgrims began, facilities which could accept a large number of admirers was well prepared. Latter half of the 18th century, more and more people using those climbing routes, the range of the asset expand to the 5th Station of Mt. Fuji.

According to rule inside the Mt. Fuji Lecture (Fujiko), the admirers must use the main route which is the Yoshidaguchi Climbing Route, to climb the Mt. Fuji. For this reason, the users of the Yohidaguchi Route increasing continually, after the 18th Century, it became the most popular climbing route of Mt. Fuji.

Religious Ruins on the Top of Mt. Fuji

12894 d 8 d 2 e 51 4 f 2 f afed c 6275 c 01 ac 75

Religious related ruins such as shrines are distributed along the crater wall of the top of Mt. Fuji.
When the admirers began to climbing Mt. Fuji, series of religious related activities such as the construction of temples and dedication of Buddha statues will be carried out. The ruins on the top of Mt. Fuji also related to those activities.

At the top of Mt. Fuji, now a day after admiring the "Goraiko" (Sunrise) the climbers will also walk around the crater(Obochi Meguri) which is considered as the inheritance of the ancient religious faith of Mt. Fuji.

Yamanashi Prefecture · Fujiyoshida City: Kitaguchi Hongu Fuji Sengen Jinja Shrine​ ​

1fcad97d ea75 4548 ab8c 1aefc0663e87

An original place which worships the Asama Ogami(Asama God). The torii(traditional Japanese gate) of "Mt. Fuji" was built in 1480, and the main hall of the Shrine was completed in the middle of the 16th Century.
Connect with Fuji Lecture(Fujiko) closely, and construction work of the shrine was carried out by the donor who's name is Mr. Kosei Murakami, the leader of the Fuji Lecture in the 1730s.​ ​

Lakes of the Fuji-Iki (Mt. Fuji Area): Lake Saiko· Lake Shojin·Lake Motosuko

22a51a83 4a81 437d 8fc9 1ee 3e 057 6412

Mt. Fuji Area is divided into 3 parts by 3 lakes of Fuji Five Lake, their Lake Saiko, Lake Shojinko and Lake Motosuko. Especially the Lake Motosuko, famous for its photograph, is used as the pattern of the Japanese 1000 Yen note.

However, not belong to the Fujisan-Iki(Mt. Fuji Area), but as part of the Mt. Fuji World Heritage Site, Lake Kawaguchiko, and Lake Yamanakako also famous for its marvelousness.
These five lakes are famous scenic spots with a lot of artworks and they also known as "Fuji Five Lakes". Mt. Fuji that reflects on the lake surface is called "Upside down Mt. Fuji" is famous among the visitors.

Marvelous Mt. Fuji and Fuji Five Lakes are always the highlight of the Mt. Fuji admiration from the long time ago, there are no changes until today.

A journey to World Heritage · Mt. Fuji

You may also like...

Spot information relevant to this article


Enjoy Fuji in winter! Featured feature articles


Popular articles of world heritage

Popular spots of World Heritage


From the area
Search spots, articles and features

From category
Search spots, articles and features



See other articles on World Heritage Sites